KHDA Rules for Private Tutors in Dubai: What the Regulator Actually Governs
KHDA does not licence individual tutors in Dubai, MoHRE does, and the permit is free for two years. A parent's guide to the real rules, the mandatory UAE subjects, and how to verify a tutor.

In this guide · 12 sections
If you have spent an evening comparing tutoring websites in Dubai, you will have seen the phrase "KHDA-approved tutors". It appears with great confidence, usually near a star rating, and it is almost always wrong — not as marketing exaggeration but as a statement about which government body does what.
The short version of the KHDA rules for private tutors in Dubai, which this article then unpacks properly: KHDA regulates private education providers in Dubai — schools and training institutes with premises. It does not issue permits to individual private tutors. That is done by MoHRE, the Ministry of Human Resources and Emiratisation, under a permit scheme introduced in 2023 and granted free of charge for two years.
Getting this straight is worth an hour of your time, because it gives a parent two things. First, a question you can ask any tutor that has a checkable answer, which is rare in this market. Second, a reliable filter: a provider confused about which regulator governs them is unlikely to be precise about anything else.
This piece covers what KHDA actually governs, who issues a tutor's permit and on what terms, what the "approved" claim really refers to, the mandatory UAE subjects KHDA requires alongside an International Baccalaureate or Cambridge programme, where a school teacher's own ethics rules bite, how the picture changes in the other emirates, and how to verify a tutor yourself in about ten minutes. It also states where IB Gram sits, which is that we hold no approval from any of these bodies and say so.
- of Dubai private school students on a UK curriculum
- 37%
- on an Indian curriculum
- 26%
- on a US curriculum
- 14%
- on an International Baccalaureate programme
- 7%
Curriculum shares published by the Dubai Media Office from KHDA data for the 2024-25 academic year.
Seventeen different curricula are licensed across Dubai's private schools, which is the context for everything below. A regulator overseeing seventeen curricula cannot sensibly also vet every adult who gives a maths lesson in a living room — and it does not try to. The division of labour between KHDA and MoHRE exists precisely because schools and individuals are different regulatory problems.
KHDA rules for private tutors in Dubai: what KHDA actually regulates, and what it does not
KHDA — the Knowledge and Human Development Authority — is, in the federal government's own description, "responsible for enhancing and overseeing the quality of private education in the emirate". That sentence is doing specific work. KHDA's object is private education provision: the schools, the institutes, the licensed curricula, the inspections, the fees, the mandatory subject requirements. Its object is not individual freelance labour.
The table below separates the two, because the confusion in this market is almost entirely a confusion about scope.
| The thing in question | Does KHDA govern it? | Who governs it instead, and under what |
|---|---|---|
| A private school in Dubai and its licensed curriculum | Yes — licensing, quality oversight, inspection | — |
| School fees at a Dubai private school | Yes — KHDA confirmed no increase for 2026-27 | — |
| Mandatory Arabic, Islamic Education and Social Studies in Dubai private schools | Yes — KHDA sets the requirements and the lesson-time rules | Federal baseline set by the Ministry of Education |
| A school's teachers of Arabic and Islamic Education | Yes — schools must ensure these teachers hold appropriate KHDA approval | — |
| A tuition centre with premises and staff in Dubai | Yes — through an Educational Services Permit for a training institute | — |
| An individual giving private lessons in Dubai | No | MoHRE, via the private tutor work permit under Ministerial Resolution No. 710 of 2023 |
| A teacher's professional ethics around tutoring their own students | Partly, via school rules | MoHRE permit code of conduct; in Abu Dhabi, ADEK's ethics rules |
| An online tutor physically located outside the UAE | No | Outside the UAE permit regime entirely |
| A student's Ministry of Education equivalency certificate | No | Ministry of Education and the emirate attestation route |
Sources for these rows: the u.ae private-schools and work-permits pages, KHDA's mandatory-subjects guidelines and its Educational Services Permit service page, read in October 2026.
Note row four, because it is the single most misused fact in Dubai tutoring copy. KHDA approval of teachers is a real thing — but it is a requirement placed on schools, in respect of their own Arabic and Islamic Education teachers. KHDA's mandatory-subjects guidance states that schools "are required to ensure that all teachers of Islamic Education and Arabic have appropriate KHDA approval to teach these subjects". That is a staffing obligation on a licensed school for two specific subject areas. It is not a credential your freelance maths tutor can hold, and it is not what "KHDA-approved tutor" is being used to imply.
Read down both columns before accepting any approval claim in Dubai tutoring copy.
The takeaway from that split is blunt: there is no column a freelance maths tutor in Dubai can stand in and truthfully call themselves KHDA-approved. Where the subject is one we teach, our IB maths tutoring in Dubai and Cambridge IGCSE Mathematics 0580 tutoring in Dubai pages describe what the tutor has taught, which is the only claim either of us can evidence.
Who issues a private tutor's permit in Dubai, and on what terms
MoHRE. Private tutoring in the UAE is regulated by permit, and the scheme was introduced by Ministerial Resolution No. 710 of 2023 Regarding the Introduction of Private Tuition Work Permits. It is a federal scheme, so it applies in Dubai exactly as it applies in Fujairah.
Three features of the permit make it unusually easy to raise with a tutor without any awkwardness at all.
It is free. The permit "is granted free of charge for two years". Every regulatory source we checked says the same thing and none quotes a fee. So there is no cost objection available to a tutor who has not got one.
It is fast. MoHRE's own service page — titled "Issuance of a New Work Permit - Private Tutor Licensing" — lists a two-working-day completion time, applied for through the MoHRE smart app, the MoHRE website and its e-services system. No fees are listed on that page.
It is broad. The scheme was plainly designed to bring ordinary tutoring inside the law rather than to shut most tutors out. The eligible applicants include teachers registered in government or private schools, employees in the government and private sectors, unemployed individuals, school students aged 15 to 18, and university students. That list covers nearly everyone who tutors in Dubai in practice.
- the permit fee, because it is granted free of charge
- AED 0
- MoHRE's published completion time for a new application
- 2 working days
- how long the permit runs before renewal
- 2 years
- categories of applicant named as eligible, from school teachers to students aged 15 to 18
- 5
Figures from the u.ae work permits page and MoHRE's private tutor licensing service page, read in October 2026.
Nothing in that block is a barrier. A permit that costs nothing, clears in two working days and lasts two years is not a scheme designed to keep tutors out, which is exactly why its absence tells you something.
Put those three together and the inference is straightforward: a tutor without the permit has not been excluded by the rules, they have not engaged with them. That is a fact about the person, not about the regulation, and it is the reason this is a useful question.
Steps summarised from the u.ae work permits page and MoHRE's private tutor licensing service page, read in October 2026. Always apply through MoHRE directly, never through an intermediary charging a fee.
Our own pages for Dubai — including IB tutoring in Dubai, private IB tutoring in Dubai and experienced IB tutoring in Dubai — describe tutor background rather than claiming a regulator's endorsement, for exactly the reasons set out here. If you want the permit itself explained from the tutor's side rather than the parent's, our piece on the UAE private tutor work permit goes through the application in detail.
Why "KHDA-approved tutor" is almost always a false claim
Three different things are being blurred together when a website uses that phrase, and separating them is the whole exercise.
Thing one: a KHDA Educational Services Permit. This is issued to a training institute — an organisation with premises and staff. It is a real licence with a real process, covered in the next section. A company holding it can accurately say it is KHDA-permitted as an institute. It does not make its individual tutors "KHDA-approved", because that is not what the permit certifies.
Thing two: KHDA approval of a school's Arabic and Islamic Education teachers. Also real, as set out above, and also not transferable to private tutoring. It is an obligation on the school about two subject areas.
Thing three: nothing at all. This is the most common case. The phrase is used as a trust signal because it sounds like one, with no underlying permit, approval or process behind it. It is the single most dangerous phrase available to a tutoring website in Dubai, because it attributes an endorsement to a government authority that has not given one.
Only the first of the three can be shown to you. The third is the one that is usually being sold.
Work down that list in a sales conversation and the phrase resolves itself in about thirty seconds. The honest alternative is a claim about the tutor rather than the regulator, which is what our best IB tutor in Dubai and experienced IB tutoring in Dubai pages try to make in words that can be checked.
What should you do with it? Ask one question: "Which permit, and what is the number?" An institute holding an Educational Services Permit can answer. Anyone using the phrase as decoration cannot, and will usually reframe it as "our tutors are qualified", which is a different claim entirely and one you can then evaluate on its merits.
For completeness, the same scepticism applies to the examiner label. A tutor described as an "IB examiner" or "Cambridge examiner" may well be one — but current examiner status is a checkable thing, and nobody should use it to imply access to marking, grade boundaries or paper content, because it confers none of that. We keep an IB examiner tutor page for Dubai because parents search the term, and the page's job is to explain what the label can and cannot mean rather than to trade on it.
The KHDA Educational Services Permit: what a tuition centre actually needs
If you are choosing between an individual tutor and a centre, this is the difference in legal form, and it has practical consequences for you.
A tutoring operation with premises and staff in Dubai needs a KHDA Educational Services Permit for a training institute. The process runs through an initial approval stage first, then a maximum of six months to complete the permit and licence steps, with annual renewal that must be requested at least 30 days before expiry. That is a materially heavier obligation than an individual's two-year, free, two-day permit — appropriately so, since an institute is taking responsibility for premises, staff and a programme rather than for its own teaching.
Bar widths are proportional to the two published maximum durations, not an index. Both figures come from the issuing authority's own service page.
That ratio is the clearest evidence that the two permits are doing different jobs. A two-day individual permit is a declaration; a six-month institute licence is an examination of premises, staff and programme. Our IB tutoring in Dubai and online IB tutoring in Dubai pages sit in the first category, and we say so rather than borrowing the weight of the second.
| Compare across | Individual private tutor | Tuition centre or training institute |
|---|---|---|
| Permit required | MoHRE private tutor work permit | KHDA Educational Services Permit for a training institute |
| Legal basis | Ministerial Resolution No. 710 of 2023 | KHDA's training-institute permit services |
| Cost | Granted free of charge | Not published as free; a licensing process with stages |
| Validity | Two years | Annual renewal, requested at least 30 days before expiry |
| Timeline to obtain | Two working days, per MoHRE's service page | Initial approval, then a maximum of six months to complete |
| Premises | None required | Central to the permit |
| Who answers if something goes wrong | The individual | The institute, as licence holder |
| What a parent can ask to see | The MoHRE permit | The Educational Services Permit |
The practical consequence is about recourse. With an institute, there is an entity with a licence at risk, which is a real accountability mechanism. With an individual, your recourse is the permit's code of conduct and your own contract. Neither is better in the abstract; they are different trade-offs, and the one worth avoiding is the third category — an operation behaving like an institute, with staff and a brand and a booking system, holding neither permit and claiming the regulator's name anyway.
- Individual tutor appliesThrough MoHRE's smart app, website or e-services; no fee listed
- Two working days laterMoHRE's published completion time for the private tutor permit
- Two years of validityThe individual permit's term, after which it is renewed
- Institute: initial approvalThe first stage of the KHDA Educational Services Permit
- Up to six monthsThe maximum period allowed to complete the institute permit and licence steps
- At least 30 days before expiryWhen an institute must request its annual renewal
Durations as published by MoHRE and KHDA, read in October 2026. Verify both against the authority's own page before relying on them.
The mandatory UAE subjects KHDA requires alongside the IB or IGCSE
This is where KHDA regulation touches your child directly, and it surprises most newly arrived families. Whatever international curriculum your child's school is licensed to teach, Arabic, Islamic Education and Social or Moral Studies run alongside it. That is not a school policy you can negotiate; it is a requirement.
The federal baseline sets this up: private schools are not obliged to follow a specific curriculum beyond Arabic language, social studies and Islamic studies, but must adhere to the Ministry's general regulations. KHDA then implements it in Dubai, and its guidelines are specific in ways worth knowing, because they explain things parents otherwise find baffling — such as why their child is in a different Arabic class from the child next door.
| Subject | Who must take it | Language of instruction under KHDA's rules | Class organisation rule |
|---|---|---|---|
| Arabic as a first language | Arab students | Arabic | Separate classes for Arabs and non-Arabs; combined classes strictly prohibited |
| Arabic as an additional language | Non-Arab students | Arabic, taught as an additional language | Taught separately from first-language Arabic |
| Islamic Education, Arab students | Muslim Arab students | Standard Arabic as the main language of instruction | Separate classes for Arabs and non-Arabs |
| Islamic Education, non-Arab students | Muslim non-Arab students | The school's licensed-curriculum language | Separate from the Arab cohort |
| Social Studies | Arab students, as required | Arabic as the primary language | Separate classes for Arabs and non-Arabs |
| Moral, Social and Cultural studies | Non-Arab students | The school's licensed-curriculum language | Organised per KHDA guidance |
Rows drawn from KHDA's mandatory-subjects guidelines, which state that for Arabic as a first language, Islamic Education and Social Studies, "schools must organise separate classes for Arabs and non-Arabs" and that "combined classes for both groups are strictly prohibited due to the different curriculum expectations and language of instruction". KHDA's requirements were to be implemented by the start of the 2025-26 academic year, or April 2026 for schools whose year begins in April.
Rows from KHDA's mandatory-subjects guidelines. The prohibition is the board's own word, not a paraphrase.
Read the two columns side by side and the mystery most new arrivals bring us dissolves: two children in the same year group sit different Arabic and Islamic Education classes because KHDA requires them to, in different languages, against different curriculum expectations.
Two further details shape what tutoring in these subjects can legitimately look like.
Instruction time is counted in lesson units. KHDA calculates mandatory-subject instructional time on the basis of a 40-minute lesson unit. Schools may vary the actual lesson length provided the total weekly time is met, and KHDA advises that any mandatory-subject lesson should run at least 25 minutes. That is why timetables differ between schools while the weekly totals do not.
The content is not yours to vary. For the mandatory UAE subjects, "the use of any different or additional content, without prior permission from the MoE, is strictly prohibited". This is a genuine constraint on how Arabic, Islamic Education and Social Studies tutoring may be described. A tutor can teach the material, build fluency, work on reading and writing, and prepare a student for school assessments. A tutor cannot substitute their own syllabus for the mandated content and present it as covering the requirement.
Bar widths are proportional to the two published figures, not an index. Schools may vary lesson length provided the total weekly instructional time is met.
For families whose real problem is the Arabic requirement — and for many expatriate families in Dubai it is the hardest single subject on the timetable — the honest framing is that this is a long-horizon language-learning task, not an exam-cramming one. Our pages for IB DP Arabic A tutoring in Dubai, Arabic B tutoring and Arabic ab initio tutoring separate the three routes, because a student placed in the wrong one spends two years in the wrong course. Below the Diploma, MYP Arabic tutoring in Dubai and Cambridge IGCSE Arabic First Language 0508 tutoring are the two routes Dubai schools actually place students into, and our IGCSE Arabic guide for expatriate students explains how a non-Arab student gets streamed in the first place.
Can a school teacher tutor privately in Dubai?
Yes in principle — registered school teachers are explicitly listed among those eligible for the MoHRE private tuition work permit — but with a boundary that matters, and that parents routinely try to cross without realising it.
The MoHRE permit carries a code of conduct that bars a permit holder from serving students affiliated with their own school. In Abu Dhabi, ADEK's professional-ethics rules for private and charter school staff prohibit teachers from providing paid private tutoring to students enrolled at their own school, and teachers tutoring outside school hours must hold the MoHRE permit. That ADEK detail is press-reported rather than quoted from the current policy document, so verify it against ADEK's own text before treating it as their exact wording — but the direction of travel across the UAE is consistent and the reason is obvious. A teacher who marks your child's work, contributes to their internal assessment and is paid privately by you is in a conflict of interest that no amount of good faith resolves.
So the practical rule for a Dubai parent is: a teacher from a different school, holding the permit, raises none of these questions. Your child's own teacher does, and the fact that it is easy to arrange is not a reason to arrange it. If you want a tutor who understands your child's school's internal deadlines and marking culture, ask a permitted tutor who has taught the same programme elsewhere — that knowledge is about the programme, not about the building.
It is also worth saying what should never be marketed. No provider should offer you "your child's own teacher, privately" as a product. If one does, the thing being sold is a conflict of interest.
Only the last two rows are arguable, and they are the two families weigh most heavily. The knowledge a tutor needs is knowledge of the programme, not of the building, which is why a specialist who has taught the same syllabus elsewhere is the better purchase: Internal Assessment support, Extended Essay support and Theory of Knowledge support show how we draw that boundary.
What happens if a tutor works without a permit
The position is clear in principle and deliberately unquantified in public.
Individuals offering private tutoring without a permit from MoHRE "will be subject to fines and penalties" "outlined in the applicable laws". That is the published wording. What is not published is a schedule of amounts. When the scheme was reported in the press, the ministry "did not specify the fine amounts or detail the penalties", in the words of the report. A figure does circulate online; it could not be verified against any official source, and so it does not appear in this article. Any website quoting you a precise penalty figure for unpermitted tutoring is quoting something it cannot substantiate, which tells you how carefully the rest of the page was written.
The left column is the tutor's problem. The right column is why it becomes yours.
That asymmetry is the honest reason to ask. You are not policing anybody; you are avoiding a tutor who disappears in the term that matters most. If that does happen mid-year, our IB exam preparation in Dubai and IB revision classes in Dubai pages are built for a plan picked up partway through.
Two things follow for a parent. First, do not let anyone tell you the permit is optional, or that private tutoring in the UAE is unregulated. It is regulated, by a named resolution, through a named ministry, with a named service. Second, the exposure is the tutor's, not yours — but the disruption is yours, because a tutor who cannot work is a tutor who stops mid-term, and mid-term in a Diploma year is the worst possible moment to be looking again.
How the rules differ in the other emirates
The permit scheme is federal, so the MoHRE private tutor permit applies across the UAE. What changes by emirate is the school regulator — which matters because your child's school, inspection reports, mandatory-subject implementation and fee approvals all sit with a different body depending on where you live.
| Emirate | Private school regulator | What that body governs | What it means for a tutoring plan |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dubai | KHDA (Knowledge and Human Development Authority) | Enhancing and overseeing the quality of private education in the emirate | Mandatory-subject rules and institute permits follow KHDA guidance |
| Abu Dhabi and Al Ain | ADEK (Department of Education and Knowledge) | Supervises the licensing and accreditation of private schools in the emirate | ADEK's staff ethics rules are the strictest published on teacher tutoring |
| Sharjah | SPEA (Sharjah Private Education Authority) | Regulates private education; approves fees, curricula, programmes, courses, activities and assessment methods | Curriculum and assessment approval sits with the emirate, not only inspection |
| Ras Al Khaimah | Department of Knowledge | Regulates private education; approves fees, curricula, programmes, courses, activities and assessment methods | Same approval scope as Sharjah |
| Ajman, Umm Al Quwain, Fujairah | Federal Ministry of Education | Plays a pivotal role in supervising private schools in these emirates | School oversight is federal; the tutor permit is federal too |
All five rows come from the u.ae private-schools page. It is worth noting how little of this appears in UAE tutoring content: in the sixty-odd competing pages we examined, ADEK was named by none of them and SPEA by one. A page that cannot name your emirate's regulator has not been written for your emirate.
Counts from the sixty-odd competing UAE tutoring pages we examined in October 2026. The KHDA row measures how often the name appears, not how often it is used correctly.
The pattern is worth naming. The one regulator every page mentions is the one it misuses, and the authorities that actually govern four of the seven emirates go unmentioned altogether. If you live outside Dubai, start from the page written for your emirate: IB tutoring in Abu Dhabi, IGCSE tutoring in Sharjah or the Abu Dhabi tutoring hub.
Note also the Sharjah and Ras Al Khaimah detail, which is stronger than most parents assume: those authorities "approve tuition fees, curricula, programmes, courses, activities and assessment methods". That is curriculum and fee approval, not merely inspection. If you are in Sharjah or RAK, your school's assessment arrangements have been approved locally, which is a useful thing to know before assuming a Dubai school's practice is the national norm.
- Federal Ministry of Education3 emirates
- KHDA, Dubai1 emirate
- ADEK, Abu Dhabi and Al Ain1 emirate
- SPEA, Sharjah1 emirate
- Department of Knowledge, Ras Al Khaimah1 emirate
Allocation from the u.ae private schools page, read in October 2026. The MoHRE tutor permit is federal and covers all seven.
Read the ring and the headline claim collapses. KHDA governs the schools of one emirate in seven and no individual tutor anywhere, while the federal Ministry of Education quietly oversees more emirates than any single local authority. If you have just arrived and are still mapping this, our guide to moving to Dubai with IB children covers the school-side sequence, and the best areas in Dubai for IB families covers where the schools actually sit.
We run separate pages per emirate for exactly this reason: IB tutoring in Abu Dhabi, IGCSE tutoring in Sharjah, IB tutoring in Al Ain, IB tutoring in Ajman, IB tutoring in Ras Al Khaimah, IB tutoring in Fujairah and IB tutoring in Umm Al Quwain. The regulator differs, the school landscape differs, and the honest availability picture differs too.
One adjacent process to flag, because families confuse it with school regulation: Ministry of Education equivalency for a secondary certificate is a separate matter from any of the above, handled by the Ministry and the emirate attestation route rather than by KHDA. On the British track, students must show five accredited subjects in GCSE or IGCSE certificates at a grade no less than E or grade 3, with Arabic and Islamic education not included among the five, plus one accredited subject at Advanced Level at no less than grade E or two at Advanced Subsidiary Level at the same grade. No provider — including us — performs or guarantees that process, and no IB points threshold should be quoted to you without a moe.gov.ae source. Our piece on MoE equivalency for IGCSE students sets out the requirements with their sources.
How a Dubai parent can verify a tutor in about ten minutes
None of the above is useful unless it becomes a short sequence you actually run. This is that sequence.
If you want the wider vetting process — subject fit, trial lessons, what the hour should cost, how to review the plan after six weeks — that is a separate job and we have written it up separately in how to choose an IB tutor in Dubai. This article is only the regulatory layer, which is the fastest filter but not the whole decision.
What all of this means for how IB Gram works in the UAE
We will be exact, because a page about regulatory claims is not the place to be vague about our own.
We hold no approval from any of these bodies. IB Gram does not hold a KHDA Educational Services Permit, ADEK approval, SPEA approval, Ministry of Education approval, or Cambridge or Pearson centre approval, and we are not an IB-authorised school or an IB partner. We do not describe ourselves as approved, accredited or licensed by any of them, and we would ask you to treat any provider that does as owing you a permit number.
Right-hand column from the five paragraphs that follow. Left-hand column from the sixty-odd competing UAE pages examined for this article.
Read the right-hand column as a shorter list rather than a better-sounding one. Every row we have left blank is a row we could fill if we were willing to say something we cannot evidence, which is the trade the rest of this page has been about.
We teach UAE families online, one to one, over live video. We do not send tutors to homes anywhere in the UAE. In-home tutoring is a service we operate in India only. If a tutor at your Dubai address is what you need, the local in-home market exists at roughly AED 180-500 an hour with travel priced into the fee - a band set out in full on our IB home tutor fees in Dubai and IGCSE tutor cost in Dubai pages, and in our write-ups of IB home tutor fees in Dubai and IGCSE tutor fees in Dubai, and the verification checklist above applies to those tutors exactly as it does to ours. Our comparison of home versus online IB tutoring in Dubai sets out the trade-offs without pretending the choice is obvious.
We do not guarantee grades or publish statistics we cannot evidence. No guaranteed 7, no guaranteed Diploma points, no satisfaction percentage without a sample size, a date and a method.
We do not touch assessed coursework. Internal Assessment, Extended Essay and Theory of Knowledge support is teaching, feedback and process coaching. We do not write, draft, rewrite or edit-to-completion any work that must be the student's own, and we do not supply board syllabus documents, past papers, mark schemes or grade-boundary tables as downloads — those belong to the boards, and your child's school is the right route to them.
Availability is subject to availability. Where no UAE-based specialist covers a subject and level, we tell you, and we tell you where the alternative tutor is based.
That is a shorter list of claims than most pages in this market carry. It is also the complete one.
- approvals, accreditations or licences we hold from KHDA, ADEK, SPEA, the Ministry of Education, Cambridge or Pearson
- 0
- tutors we send to UAE homes, because in-home visiting tuition is an India-only service of ours
- 0
- grades, Diploma points or satisfaction percentages we guarantee
- 0
- words of assessed coursework we will write, draft, rewrite or edit to completion
- 0
Every figure above is a zero on purpose. A provider whose equivalent list is longer owes you the permit numbers behind it.
If you want to see how the online, one-to-one model runs before you ask anyone about a permit, our IB tutoring and IGCSE tutoring pages set out what happens in the first four lessons, and what we say when no specialist covers your subject in the week you need it.
Frequently Asked Questions About KHDA Rules and Tutor Permits in Dubai
- UK curriculum37%
- Indian curriculum26%
- US curriculum14%
- International Baccalaureate7%
- The other thirteen licensed curricula16%
Shares published by the Dubai Media Office from KHDA data for the 2024-25 academic year; the final slice is the balance across the remaining curricula.
The ring is the reason KHDA does not vet individual tutors. Four curricula account for 84% of Dubai's private school enrolment and thirteen more share the rest - a regulator with that much school estate to license has delegated the individual tutor to MoHRE, and has said so.
Does KHDA regulate private tutors in Dubai?
No. KHDA is responsible for enhancing and overseeing the quality of private education in Dubai — schools, licensed curricula, fees, inspections and training institutes with premises. Individual private tutors are permitted by MoHRE, the Ministry of Human Resources and Emiratisation, under a separate federal scheme. KHDA does regulate one adjacent thing people confuse with this: schools must ensure their own teachers of Arabic and Islamic Education hold appropriate KHDA approval for those subjects. That is an obligation on a licensed school about two subject areas, not a credential a freelance tutor can hold.
Which ministry issues the private tuition work permit in the UAE?
MoHRE, the Ministry of Human Resources and Emiratisation. The scheme was introduced by Ministerial Resolution No. 710 of 2023 Regarding the Introduction of Private Tuition Work Permits, and MoHRE's own service is titled "Issuance of a New Work Permit - Private Tutor Licensing". Applications go through the MoHRE smart app, the MoHRE website or its e-services system. Because the scheme is federal, it works the same way in every emirate — the body that changes by emirate is the school regulator, not the tutoring permit authority.
How much does a UAE private tutor permit cost?
Nothing. The private tuition work permit "is granted free of charge for two years", and MoHRE's service page for private tutor licensing lists no fees. This is unanimous across every official source we checked, which is why no figure appears anywhere in this article. It also makes the permit a very clean question to ask a tutor: there is no cost objection available. If anyone offers to obtain the permit on a tutor's behalf for a fee, the correct response is to apply directly through MoHRE's own channels instead.
How long does the private tutor permit last and how long does it take to get?
The permit is granted for two years, and MoHRE's service page for private tutor licensing publishes a completion time of two working days. Taken together, those are the two numbers that make the permit unavoidable as a question: two days to obtain, two years of cover, no fee. A tutor who says the process is slow or burdensome has not looked at the service page. Verify both figures on MoHRE's own site before relying on them, since published service parameters can change without any notice reaching a tutoring website.
Can a university student legally tutor in Dubai?
Yes. University students are explicitly listed among those eligible for the MoHRE private tuition work permit, alongside registered school teachers, government and private sector employees, and unemployed individuals. Eligibility is a legal question, not a competence one. A capable undergraduate is often a good fit for Middle Years Programme support or general subject confidence, and rarely the right choice for a Higher Level Diploma subject in an exam year, where the job is knowing the assessment criteria as a reflex. Ask what they have taught, by subject and level, before the price.
Can a 16-year-old student tutor in the UAE?
Yes, within the scheme. School students aged 15 to 18 are a named eligible category for the MoHRE private tuition work permit, which is a deliberate policy choice to bring peer tutoring inside the law rather than leave it in a grey area. In practice this suits younger siblings, primary-level reading and number work, and confidence-building. It is not a sensible match for Diploma Programme teaching, Internal Assessment coaching or exam-technique work at Higher Level, where the tutor needs to have worked inside the assessment rather than recently sat near it.
What are the penalties for tutoring in the UAE without a permit?
Individuals offering private tutoring without a MoHRE permit "will be subject to fines and penalties" "outlined in the applicable laws". No schedule of amounts is published. When the scheme was reported, the ministry did not specify the fine amounts or detail the penalties, so this article quotes no figure — and a website that quotes you a precise amount is stating something it cannot substantiate. For a parent, the practical risk is not financial but operational: a tutor who cannot legally work is a tutor who may stop mid-term, which in a Diploma year is the worst possible timing.
Does a tutor based outside the UAE who teaches my child online need a UAE permit?
The UAE permit regime covers tutoring work performed in the UAE, so a tutor physically located in another country sits outside it and holds no UAE permit. That is not a problem in itself — a great deal of excellent teaching reaches UAE students remotely, including ours — but it should be disclosed to you rather than discovered by you. Ask where the tutor is physically based, and treat a UAE-looking page whose only contact is a foreign mobile number as having answered the question by accident.
What permit does a tuition centre in Dubai need?
A KHDA Educational Services Permit for a training institute. The process begins with initial approval, allows a maximum of six months to complete the permit and licence steps, and requires annual renewal requested at least 30 days before expiry. This is the permit that underlies any legitimate claim to be KHDA-permitted, and it certifies the institute, not individual tutors. You are entitled to ask a centre to show it. An operation running like a centre — premises, staff, brand, booking system — with neither this permit nor individual MoHRE permits is the category to avoid.
Is Arabic compulsory for my child at a Dubai IB school?
Yes. Arabic, Islamic Education and Social or Moral Studies are mandatory in all Dubai private schools regardless of the licensed international curriculum, and KHDA required its arrangements to be implemented by the start of the 2025-26 academic year — April 2026 for schools whose year begins in April. The federal baseline behind this is that private schools are not obliged to follow a specific curriculum beyond Arabic language, social studies and Islamic studies. Arab students take Arabic as a first language; non-Arab students take it as an additional language. Neither route is optional.
Can Arab and non-Arab students be taught Islamic Education in the same class in Dubai?
No. KHDA's mandatory-subjects guidance states that for Arabic as a first language, Islamic Education and Social Studies, schools must organise separate classes for Arabs and non-Arabs, and that combined classes for both groups are "strictly prohibited due to the different curriculum expectations and language of instruction". The language of instruction differs too: Standard Arabic for Islamic Education for Arab students, and the school's licensed-curriculum language for non-Arab students. This is usually the explanation when two children in the same year group are in visibly different Arabic or Islamic Education classes.
Who regulates private schools in Sharjah, Ajman and Fujairah?
Sharjah's private schools are regulated by the Sharjah Private Education Authority, which approves tuition fees, curricula, programmes, courses, activities and assessment methods. Ajman, Umm Al Quwain and Fujairah fall under the federal Ministry of Education, which plays a pivotal role in supervising private schools in those three emirates. Ras Al Khaimah has its own Department of Knowledge, with the same approval scope as Sharjah's authority. Abu Dhabi and Al Ain sit with ADEK, which supervises the licensing and accreditation of private schools in that emirate. The tutoring permit remains federal throughout.
Can I ask a tutor to show me their permit?
Yes, and a professional will expect it. Framing it as a procedural question rather than an accusation makes the conversation easy: "which category did you apply under, and when does it renew?" Someone holding the permit answers in a sentence. Someone who has not applied usually says it is not required for online lessons, or not required for part-time work, or not required at all — none of which is correct, since the resolution covers private tuition generally. You are hiring an adult to work with your child; this is the least intrusive check available to you.
The ten-minute version, and the claims we will not make
The ten-minute version. KHDA licences Dubai's schools and its tuition centres; MoHRE permits the individual tutor, free, for two years, in two working days. "KHDA-approved tutor" means an institute's Educational Services Permit or it means nothing at all, so ask which permit and what the number is. Mandatory Arabic, Islamic Education and Social or Moral Studies are not negotiable alongside any licensed international curriculum. And your emirate's school regulator may not be KHDA at all.
What we will not claim. No approval, accreditation or licence from KHDA, ADEK, SPEA, the Ministry of Education, Cambridge or Pearson. No tutor at a UAE address, because for UAE families we teach online, one to one, over live video. No guaranteed grades. No assessed coursework written for a student.
Need a tutor for this subject?
Share your city, programme stage and subject — the IB Gram advisor team replies with a small, honest shortlist.