Skip to main content
Flag of Abu DhabiAbu DhabiONLINE IGCSE TUITION, PRICED FROM THE BOTTOM UP

IB IGCSE Tutor for Amity International School Abu Dhabi Students in Abu Dhabi

Most pages about an IB IGCSE tutor for Amity International School Abu Dhabi students in Abu Dhabi start at the premium end and work down, which flatters the premium end. This one starts at AED 45 an hour and works up, asking at each step what the extra money buys. It also covers the ADEK layer that Dubai parents never meet. Lessons are one-to-one over live video, in Gulf Standard Time.

  • Rates read from the cheapest band upwards, with each source named
  • The ADEK and MoHRE position set out so a parent can check it
  • One-to-one live video delivery; no visits to UAE addresses
  • Free trial lesson, one session, no card details required

AED 45

the lowest advertised online hourly rate in this market

Free

the cost of the MoHRE private tuition work permit

ADEK

Abu Dhabi's regulator, named by no researched competitor

June

the main Cambridge series sat by UAE centres

International schools near Abu Dhabi
  • Amity International School Abu Dhabi
  • Al Yasmina Academy
  • Raha International School
  • GEMS American Academy Abu Dhabi
  • Cranleigh Abu Dhabi
  • Yasmina British Academy
  • The British School Al Khubairat
  • Abu Dhabi International School
  • Al Muna Academy
  • American Community School of Abu Dhabi
  • Brighton College Abu Dhabi

School names are shown for local academic context only. IB Gram is an independent tutoring platform and is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or representing any school listed here.

IB & IGCSE in Abu Dhabi

Read the market from the bottom, not the top

Every tutoring page in this market introduces its prices from the top down. The premium tier appears first, the mid tier follows as the sensible compromise, and the budget tier arrives last as a warning. That ordering is a sales device rather than information, because it makes the mid tier feel like restraint when it may be twice what a particular job needs. Reading the same market from the bottom up produces different and more useful decisions.

So this page starts at AED 45 an hour, which is the lowest advertised figure in the researched market, and climbs. At each step it asks a single question: what does the additional money actually buy, and is that thing relevant to your child's problem? Sometimes it is, decisively. A pupil who needs an Extended-tier script marked against a real mark scheme is not well served at the bottom of the market. Sometimes it is not, and a family pays specialist rates for content coverage a careful graduate could have delivered.

The figures used are published by the providers and surveys named, not by IB Gram. EdFlik advertises online tutoring from AED 45 to 65 an hour and Tutopiya from roughly AED 33 to 52. Unitors publishes IGCSE tuition from AED 150 and IB from AED 200. TutorChase quotes around AED 270. The Bestimate rate survey for Dubai puts in-home one-to-one at AED 180 to 350 and subject specialists at AED 200 to 450 or above, while BartyED advertises AED 650 for a named premium tutor. None of these providers publishes outcome data with a sample size, a date and a method.

Abu Dhabi then adds a layer that Dubai families do not encounter. The Department of Education and Knowledge supervises the licensing and accreditation of private schools in the emirate, and ADEK's professional-ethics rules for private and charter school staff have been reported as prohibiting teachers from providing paid private tutoring to students enrolled at their own school. Teachers tutoring outside school hours must hold the MoHRE private tuition work permit, whose code of conduct is also reported to bar serving students affiliated with their own school. Those reports should be verified against the current ADEK policy document before being treated as ADEK's exact wording, and they are enough to make one arrangement a parent might think convenient the wrong one.

ADEK appears on none of the researched competitor pages, which is a remarkable gap on pages targeting Abu Dhabi families. So this page covers it, along with how to verify a rate, what group classes can and cannot do, and what the travel premium looks like across an emirate where the distances are genuinely long. Tuition for Abu Dhabi families is one-to-one over live video in Gulf Standard Time; IB Gram does not offer home visits in Abu Dhabi, and home visits are a service offered only in India.

At a glance

  • Advertised online rates in this market start at around AED 45 to 65 an hour
  • Unitors publishes IGCSE from AED 150; TutorChase quotes about AED 270
  • The Bestimate survey puts specialists at AED 200 to 450 and above
  • No provider in this market publishes outcome data with a sample size and method
  • ADEK supervises licensing and accreditation of Abu Dhabi private schools
  • The MoHRE private tuition work permit is granted free of charge for two years
IB programmes

Every IB programme stage, mapped to UAE school years

What the money buys changes with the stage, because the scarcity of the right person changes. Below is where each band sits across the stages an Abu Dhabi family moves through.

KS3Ages 11-14 · Years 7-9

Key Stage 3

The stage where the bottom of the market performs best. Content is foundational, the specification is not yet in play, and a careful graduate who can insist on written method and drill arithmetic fluency does most of what is needed. Paying specialist rates for Key Stage 3 content coverage is the commonest overspend in this market.

Abu Dhabi schools set and stream in most cases, and the set a pupil occupies at the end of Year 9 often informs the IGCSE tier a department later proposes. A short, cheap intervention here protects a grade ceiling that would cost several times as much to recover in Year 11.

IGCSEAges 14-16 · Years 10-11

Cambridge and Pearson Edexcel IGCSE

The stage where the bands genuinely diverge. Core-tier content coverage is well served in the middle of the market. Extended-tier work that requires a script marked against a real mark scheme, with lost marks categorised, is not reliably available at the bottom, and that is the single clearest justification for paying more.

UAE candidates sit the June and November series. Cambridge allocates every centre to one of six administrative zones and warns that it cannot accept responsibility for candidates who miss an examination after the wrong zone timetable was used, so the school's zone is worth confirming.

DPAges 16-19 · Years 12-13

IB Diploma Programme

Internal assessment work changes the calculation. Scoring a draft against lettered criteria with stated mark allocations requires familiarity with those criteria, which is scarce and therefore priced accordingly. Content support at Standard Level is a different and cheaper proposition from criterion-level feedback at Higher Level.

Abu Dhabi has a substantial International Baccalaureate presence alongside its British and American curriculum schools, which means a family may be choosing between two post-16 systems locally. The scarcity of Diploma specialists is the main driver of rate at this stage.

A LevelAges 16-18 · Years 12-13

International A Level

The thinnest specialist pool and therefore the firmest rates. The published AED 200 to 450 specialist band applies, and premium named tutors advertise up to AED 650. Content depth in one subject at one specification is genuinely scarce, and this is where paying the upper band is most often defensible.

Abu Dhabi sixth forms publish IGCSE entry grades for their A Level courses and apply them, frequently alongside a mathematics requirement for the sciences. Checking both in Year 10 converts a vague worry into a numeric target that any band of tutor can work towards.

Subject coverage

IB and IGCSE subjects we tutor

Scarcity drives rate more than difficulty does. Each subject below is listed with its code and a note on where it sits in the market, because that is what determines what you will be quoted.

Mathematics (Cambridge IGCSE 0580)

Core and Extended

The best-supplied subject in the market, which keeps rates near the middle of the published bands. Core-tier content coverage is well served at the lower end; Extended-tier script marking is not.

Mathematics A (Pearson Edexcel 4MA1)

Foundation and Higher

Similarly well supplied. The only thing that moves the rate is a brief requiring reconciliation of a mid-course board change, which is a one-off piece of work rather than an ongoing premium.

Physics (Cambridge IGCSE 0625)

Core and Extended

A thinner pool than mathematics at Extended tier, which pushes rates towards the upper band. A practical-component block serves all three sciences at once and lowers the effective cost substantially.

Chemistry (Cambridge IGCSE 0620)

Core and Extended

Moles and organic chemistry are the paid-for topics, and both are narrow enough that a defined short block at mid-band rates often beats an open arrangement at any rate.

Biology (Cambridge IGCSE 0610)

Core and Extended

The subject where the bottom of the market performs best, because much of the gap is content volume closable with a revision guide and a schedule. What needs a second reader is terminology marking.

First Language English (Cambridge 0500 and 0990)

IGCSE

Mid-band, and unusually efficient: three or four marked and rewritten pieces often move a grade. Paying the upper band for English discussion rather than English marking is poor value at any rate.

Literature in English (Cambridge 0475 and 0992)

IGCSE

Rate depends on the school's text list, because an unusual set text narrows the pool sharply. Establish the list before agreeing anything, since it affects both match time and price.

Economics and Business Studies

IGCSE

Mid-band and efficient when aimed at evaluation writing specifically. A pupil who knows every definition and loses the whole evaluation allocation needs weeks of targeted work rather than terms of content.

Computer Science (Cambridge IGCSE 0478)

IGCSE

A genuinely thin pool, particularly for Cambridge pseudocode conventions, so expect longer match times and upper-band rates. Worth asking about availability before building a budget around it.

Arabic as a first or additional language

IGCSE and school-stream

Mandatory provision alongside any international curriculum in UAE private schools under the federal baseline. A thin specialist pool at first-language level, and support must follow the prescribed content rather than substitute an alternative.

How sessions run

Tutoring formats built around UAE school timetables

Three ways to buy, described by what each band of the market can and cannot deliver rather than by how the sessions feel.

Content coverage at the lower band

Someone competent going through material with a pupil, keeping them company through revision, and answering questions as they arise. At the advertised AED 45 to 65 range this is genuine value for Core-tier content and for Key Stage 3, and it is not what an Extended-tier script diagnosis requires.

  • Suitable for Key Stage 3 and Core-tier content coverage
  • Works for a pupil who needs company and structure rather than diagnosis
  • Ask whether the tutor has read the specification, not just the subject
  • Ask to see the MoHRE private tuition work permit, which is free to hold

Specification-led teaching at the mid band

A trained teacher who knows the specification, sets work against the school's scheme, and can explain why a mark scheme awards what it awards. Unitors publishes IGCSE tuition from AED 150 and the Bestimate survey puts qualified subject tutors at AED 150 to 300. This is the sensible default for Extended-tier work.

  • Session content set by the school's next assessment
  • The specification code and tier confirmed before work starts
  • One piece of the pupil's own work marked between sessions
  • A stated target drawn from a marked script

Script diagnosis at the specialist band

Marking a timed Extended-tier paper against the published scheme and categorising every lost mark, then aiming the work at the largest category. The Bestimate survey puts specialists at AED 200 to 450 or above. This is the one thing the bottom of the market does not reliably deliver, and the clearest reason to pay more.

  • A full past paper under timing, marked against the real scheme
  • Lost marks counted by content, method, precision and timing
  • A written note a head of department can read in five minutes
  • A recommendation that may be to buy fewer hours, not more
Verified tutors

IB and IGCSE tutors available to students in Abu Dhabi

The tutors below teach Cambridge and Pearson Edexcel IGCSE across mathematics, the sciences and the essay subjects, one-to-one over live video into Gulf Standard Time. Work starts from the specification code and tier on your child's exam entry.

Explore IB tutor options
RUHINA

RUHINA

Biology

IGCSE

4rating10 Yrs
Ajmanonline / home / hybridAll countries
Concept buildingDoubt clearing
Check availability
The full picture

What IB and IGCSE study actually looks like in Abu Dhabi

01

Starting at AED 45 and working up

An IGCSE tutor in the UAE market costs between about AED 33 and AED 650 an hour, and the honest way to present that is from the bottom. EdFlik advertises online tutoring from AED 45 to 65 and Tutopiya from roughly AED 33 to 52, both drawing largely on university students and overseas graduates. That is the floor, and it is a real floor rather than a loss-leader: these providers deliver sessions at those prices.

The next step up is Unitors, publishing IGCSE tuition from AED 150 and IB from AED 200, which roughly triples the floor. TutorChase quotes around AED 270. The Bestimate rate survey for Dubai puts qualified subject tutors at AED 150 to 300 and subject specialists at AED 200 to 450 or above. The top of the market is BartyED at AED 650 for a named premium tutor. In-home one-to-one sits at AED 180 to 350 in the Bestimate survey and up to AED 500 among independent home tutors.

Read upwards, each step has to justify itself against the step below. From AED 45 to AED 150 the justification is specification knowledge: a trained teacher who has taught the syllabus rather than studied the subject. From AED 150 to AED 250 it is diagnostic capability: the ability to mark a timed script against the published scheme and say where the marks went. From AED 250 to AED 650 the justification is scarcity and reputation, and that is where the argument gets weakest.

It gets weakest because nothing in this market is measured. Not one of the researched providers publishes outcome data with a sample size, a date and a stated method. Competitor pages carry satisfaction percentages, self-asserted star ratings and claims about the proportion of students reaching top grades, with nothing checkable attached. A rate above the specialist band is therefore a claim about positioning, and a family paying it should be clear that is what they are buying.

THE MARKET READ FROM THE BOTTOM UP, WITH SOURCES
StepAED per hourWho publishes itWhat the step up buys
Floor33-65Tutopiya from AED 33-52; EdFlik from AED 45-65Company, structure and content coverage
First step150-200Unitors IGCSE from AED 150, IB from AED 200A trained teacher who knows the specification
Second step200-300TutorChase AED 270; Bestimate 150-300 qualifiedDiagnostic capability against a real mark scheme
Third step300-450Bestimate specialists 200-450+Depth in one subject at one tier
In-home180-500Bestimate 180-350; home tutors to 500A car and an adult in the room, not better teaching
Top500-650+BartyED AED 650Scarcity and reputation; nothing measured behind it
02

What the bottom of the market actually does well

It is worth being specific rather than dismissive, because the floor of this market is genuinely useful for several real jobs. A pupil who understands the content and will not sit down to revise alone benefits from somebody competent in the room keeping the session moving. A Key Stage 3 pupil who needs arithmetic drilled to fluency needs repetition under mild time pressure, not a specialist. A Core-tier candidate covering content needs coverage.

In each of those cases the extra AED 150 an hour buys nothing the job requires. A family paying specialist rates to have a confident graduate keep their Year 8 company through maths homework has paid for diagnostic capability they are not using. That is the single most common overspend in this market and it happens because the market is presented top-down, making the floor look like a risk rather than a fit.

What the floor does not do reliably is diagnosis. Marking a timed Extended-tier script against the published mark scheme, separating method losses from content losses, and knowing that a six-mark explanation question wants six ideas in sequence are things that come from having taught the specification and ideally from having marked it. A tutor learning the syllabus alongside your child cannot do that, however able they are.

The practical test is a question rather than a credential. Ask a prospective tutor at any rate: which specification code and tier is my child entered for, and what are the components? Then: having read this marked script, how many marks went to method as against content? A tutor who answers both concretely is worth their rate whatever it is. A tutor who answers in general terms about building confidence is a floor-level service, and should be priced as one.

03

When the specialist band is genuinely justified

There are four situations where paying the AED 200 to 450 band is defensible on the evidence rather than on reassurance, and they are narrower than the market implies. The first is Extended-tier script diagnosis, where a marked timed paper has to be read properly and the lost marks categorised. The second is the top end of a subject, where a pupil already at a 7 is chasing the marks that separate a 7 from an 8 or 9 and the questions involved are genuinely demanding.

The third is a scarce specification. Cambridge Computer Science 0478 with pseudocode conventions, Additional Mathematics 0606, Arabic as a first language, or an unusual literature text list. Here the rate reflects supply rather than any claim about quality, and a family is paying for availability. That is a legitimate thing to pay for, and it should be understood as such rather than as access to better teaching.

The fourth is a specific internal assessment brief at Diploma level, where scoring a draft against lettered criteria with stated mark allocations requires familiarity with those criteria. A tutor who knows what criterion B wants in a particular subject is scarce, and the work they do is not available at the floor. Again, that is supply and specificity rather than general excellence.

Outside those four, the honest answer is often that the mid band is sufficient and the floor may be. The useful discipline is to name the job before the rate: content coverage, habit installation, script diagnosis, top-end stretch, or scarce specification. Each has a band attached, and matching the two prevents both kinds of error - paying specialist rates for coverage, and buying coverage when diagnosis was what was needed.

MATCH THE JOB TO THE BAND
The jobBand that fitsWhat would be wasted at a higher bandWhat would be missing at a lower one
Key Stage 3 arithmetic fluencyFloor, AED 45-65Diagnostic capability nobody will useNothing; repetition is the whole job
Core-tier content coverageFloor to mid, AED 65-150Specification depth beyond what is examinedLittle, if the tutor has read the syllabus
Written-method habit installationFloor to mid, AED 65-150Mark-scheme expertise, mostlyNothing, provided somebody insists
Extended-tier script diagnosisSpecialist, AED 200-450Nothing; this is the band's purposeThe whole point: nobody can categorise the losses
Top-end stretch from a 7 upwardsSpecialist, AED 200-450NothingThe hardest questions go unaddressed
Scarce specification or text listSpecialist, by supplyNothing; you are paying for availabilitySimply nobody available at all
Diploma internal assessment criteriaSpecialist, AED 200-450NothingCriterion-level feedback is not possible
04

The ADEK layer that Dubai parents never meet

Abu Dhabi has its own regulator and it appears on none of the researched competitor pages, which is a striking omission on pages aimed at Abu Dhabi families. The Department of Education and Knowledge supervises the licensing and accreditation of private schools in the emirate. Dubai's equivalent is the Knowledge and Human Development Authority; Sharjah's is the Sharjah Private Education Authority; Ras Al Khaimah has its Department of Knowledge; and the Ministry of Education supervises private schools in Ajman, Umm Al Quwain and Fujairah.

The part with direct consequences for a tutoring arrangement is professional ethics. ADEK's rules for private and charter school staff have been reported as prohibiting teachers from providing paid private tutoring to students enrolled at their own school, and teachers tutoring outside school hours must hold the MoHRE private tuition work permit, whose code of conduct is also reported to bar serving students affiliated with their own school. Those reports should be verified against the current ADEK policy document before being quoted as ADEK's exact wording.

The practical advice follows regardless of the precise wording: do not arrange paid tutoring with your child's own class teacher, however convenient and however well they know the pupil. It puts the teacher in a position they should not be in, and it is the one arrangement in this market that is explicitly discouraged by both an emirate regulator and a federal permit's code of conduct. Any provider marketing a pupil's own teacher privately is marketing a problem.

Nothing in any of this gives a tutoring platform standing to claim regulatory approval. A parent can name a regulator and explain what it does; a provider cannot imply endorsement. IB Gram holds no ADEK, KHDA, SPEA, MoE, MoHRE, Cambridge, Pearson or IB approval, accreditation, licensing or partnership and makes no such claim. It has no office or centre in Abu Dhabi or anywhere else in the UAE, and nobody should describe its tutors as regulator-approved.

WHO REGULATES PRIVATE SCHOOLS IN EACH EMIRATE
EmirateRegulatorWhat the source says it doesRelevance to a tutoring arrangement
Abu Dhabi and Al AinDepartment of Education and Knowledge (ADEK)Supervises licensing and accreditation of private schoolsProfessional-ethics rules affect teacher tutoring
DubaiKnowledge and Human Development Authority (KHDA)Enhances and oversees the quality of private educationIssues institute permits; not tutor approvals
SharjahSharjah Private Education Authority (SPEA)Regulates private education in the emirateApproves fees, curricula, programmes and assessment
Ras Al KhaimahDepartment of KnowledgeRegulates private education in the emirateAlso approves fees and curricula
Ajman, Umm Al Quwain, FujairahMinistry of EducationPlays a supervisory role over private schoolsFederal supervision rather than an emirate body
All emirates, individual tutorsMoHREIssues the private tuition work permitFree for two years; a parent may ask to see it
05

Five things a parent can actually verify

Most claims in this market cannot be checked and a few can. The permit can. The private tuition work permit was introduced by Ministerial Resolution No. 710 of 2023, is issued through MoHRE, and is granted free of charge for two years. MoHRE's own service page is titled Issuance of a New Work Permit - Private Tutor Licensing, lists no fees and a two-working-day completion time, and is applied for through the MoHRE smart app, website and e-services system.

Because the permit is free, any provider citing licensing costs as a reason for its rate has misread its own paperwork. Eligible applicants include teachers registered in government or private schools, employees in the government and private sectors, unemployed individuals, school students aged fifteen to eighteen, and university students. Individuals offering private tutoring without a permit are subject to fines and penalties under the applicable laws; no fine schedule has been published, so any amount circulating online should be treated as unverified.

The specification code can be verified too, with the examinations officer rather than the provider. So can a sixth form's published entry grades, which are public. So can the claim that a rate is a market rate, by checking it against the published figures on this page. What cannot be verified is any satisfaction percentage, star rating or proportion-reaching-top-grades claim in this market, because none of them arrives with a sample size, a date and a method.

A premises-based operation is a different legal animal from an individual tutor, and that is checkable as well. A tutoring business with premises and staff in the UAE needs an educational services permit from the relevant emirate authority - in Dubai a KHDA Educational Services Permit for a training institute, with initial approval first, a maximum of six months to complete the permit and licence steps, and annual renewal requested at least thirty days before expiry. An online matching platform holds no such permit and should not imply one.

WHAT A PARENT CAN CHECK, AND WHERE
Claim or questionVerifiable?Where to checkWhat a good answer looks like
Does the tutor hold the MoHRE permit?YesAsk to see it; it is free and valid two yearsThe permit shown without hesitation
Is the rate a market rate?YesAgainst the published bands on this pageA figure inside a published band, with the band named
Which specification and tier is my child entered for?YesThe school's examinations officer, in writingA code and a tier, not a subject name
What grade does that sixth form require?YesThe sixth form's own admissions pageA published figure, plus any maths requirement
A satisfaction percentage or star ratingNoNowhere; no method is published in this marketAn admission that the data is not available
Does the provider hold a regulator permit?YesAsk for the permit number and issuing bodyNo such claim being made at all
06

Group classes in Abu Dhabi, and what they cannot do

  • Group rates around AED 100-150 per pupil against AED 200-450 one-to-one
  • A group addresses the average gap, which is nobody's actual gap
  • Ask whether individual timed scripts are marked; often they are not
  • A hybrid of group coverage plus a few diagnostic hours is usually the best value available

Group tuition sits between the floor and the mid band on price and is genuinely good value for one job. Small-group rates in this market run around AED 100 to 150 per pupil, against AED 200 to 450 for one-to-one specialist work. For content coverage across a group of pupils at the same tier in the same subject, the economics are hard to argue with and the social element helps some pupils work.

What a group cannot do is diagnose. A session pitched to a group addresses the average of several pupils' gaps, which means it addresses none of them precisely. Your child's specific pattern of lost marks - method unshown in three questions, a precision error in two, the back page unreached - is invisible in a group and cannot be worked on there. The entire argument for paying one-to-one rates is that the hour targets one pupil.

There is a second limitation that matters more in an examination year. A group cannot mark one pupil's timed script against the published scheme and categorise the losses, because that is individual work done between sessions. Some group providers offer it as an add-on and some do not, and asking is worth the thirty seconds. Where it is not offered, the group is a content service and the diagnostic has to come from elsewhere.

The sensible combination for a budget-conscious Abu Dhabi family is often a hybrid: group content coverage at AED 100 to 150 per pupil, plus a small number of one-to-one diagnostic sessions at the specialist band at the start and before the series. That buys the thing the group cannot do without paying specialist rates for the thing it can. Nobody in this market packages it that way, which does not mean a family cannot assemble it.

07

The travel premium in an emirate with long distances

Abu Dhabi's geography makes the in-home premium behave differently from Dubai's. A tutor travelling from the island districts out to Al Reef or Al Shamkha is committing a substantial round trip, and villa communities like Khalifa City and Al Raha have internal distances that add time after the arrival. Yas and Saadiyat have single access routes that behave badly at peak. The published AED 180 to 500 in-home band is priced against journeys of exactly this shape.

The second cost is selection, and it does not appear on any invoice. An in-home tutor must live within a drivable radius, so the pool of people who both specialise in Extended-tier Chemistry 0620 and happen to live twenty minutes from Al Reef is small and sometimes empty. When it is empty the arrangement becomes whoever is available rather than whoever is right, and a family has paid the in-home premium for a generalist. That is the worst value combination available.

The third is cancellation. A tutor held up on the Shamkha corridor or caught behind an incident on an island access route either arrives twenty minutes late and teaches forty, or cancels. Across a term that is real money that bought nothing, and the replacement slot competes with homework that has already moved. None of this is anyone's fault; it is a consequence of distance.

Removing the car removes all three. IB Gram delivers one-to-one tuition to Abu Dhabi households over live video in Gulf Standard Time, which means the tutor is selected for the specification and tier rather than for a postcode. IB Gram does not send tutors to homes anywhere in the UAE; home visits are a service offered in India only. The table sets out what each format gives and what it gives up.

ONLINE AGAINST IN-HOME IN ABU DHABI
FactorOnline one-to-oneIn-home visitWhat the difference costs
Published AED per hour150-450 depending on tier and scarcity180-500, travel inside the rateAED 30-150 an hour of it is the journey
Tutor poolAny specialist in the subject and tierThose within a drivable radiusSpecialist match against local availability
Earliest realistic startFifteen minutes after the pupil is home5.30pm or later from much of the emirateA longer usable evening
Cancellation riskLow; no journey to disruptCorridor traffic and single-access island routesSessions paid for that delivered nothing
Marked work between sessionsScript shared, annotated and returned digitallyDepends on whether work is taken awayAsk whether marking is inside the rate
Minority subject availabilityAvailable at the published bandFrequently unavailable at any priceA generalist at a premium, in the worst case
08

What no rate should include, at any band

  • Written, edited or supplied coursework: never, at any band
  • Board documents handed over as files: no; the official page is linked instead
  • Satisfaction percentages, star ratings and grade promises: not evidence
  • Examiner status: only where evidenced, and it confers no access to marking

Some things should not appear at AED 45 or at AED 650. Written, edited or supplied coursework is the clearest. One page ranking in this market sells completed Internal Assessments at a published price, which is a malpractice trigger rather than a service, and the exposure falls on the candidate whose certificate is at stake. A tutor teaches, questions, models on a different example and marks the pupil's own work.

Nor should anybody supply Cambridge, Pearson or IB syllabuses, past papers, mark schemes, grade-boundary tables or subject guides as files. Those belong to the boards, and the correct behaviour is to link the official page so a family reads the current version. A provider offering a folder of mark schemes as part of a package has told you how it treats rules in general, which is worth knowing at any price point.

Claims nobody can substantiate should not be in a rate either. No provider in this market publishes outcome data with a sample size, a date and a method, so a satisfaction percentage or a claim about the proportion of pupils reaching top grades is a marketing figure. A promise of a specific grade, score or improvement is a reason to decline. Self-asserted star ratings shipped in schema are against Google's structured-data policy and, as a commercial representation in the UAE, a consumer-protection exposure.

Examiner status deserves a note because it is used loosely. Describing a tutor as an IB or Cambridge examiner is only appropriate where current examiner status can be evidenced, and it should never be used to imply access to marking, boundaries or paper content, because it confers none. A family hearing that claim should ask what evidence supports it and what difference it is supposed to make, and should expect both answers to be modest.

09

Coverage, VAT and the first session

Mathematics, the sciences and the essay subjects at both Cambridge and Pearson tiers are well covered in this set and a match is usually quick. Thinner briefs exist: Computer Science 0478 with pseudocode conventions, Additional Mathematics 0606, Arabic as a first language, and unusual literature text lists. In a given week the honest answer may be that nobody suitable is free, and that is better said than filled with a generalist at any band.

Three outcomes are possible and a family should be told which applies. The brief is covered and a trial lesson is scheduled within days. The brief is covered by a specialist working into Gulf Standard Time from outside the UAE, which is disclosed rather than concealed behind a local-looking telephone number - and that disclosure matters, because two ranking competitors route UAE parents to numbers outside the country without saying so. Or the brief is not currently covered, in which case it is named.

On tax, this page states nothing about the UAE VAT treatment of tuition fees, because doing so would require a Federal Tax Authority citation and the position turns on a provider's own registration and the nature of the service. What a family can reasonably require is a quoted AED figure with a plain statement of whether VAT is included, excluded or not applicable, plus a tax registration number where one is held. A provider who will not put that in writing has answered a different question.

The first session is small by design. A free trial lesson is one session, with no card details required, and the useful thing to bring is your child's last marked paper rather than a description of the problem. Within that hour it should be possible to name the job - coverage, habit, diagnosis, stretch or scarcity - and therefore the band that fits it. If the answer is that the floor of the market would serve your child perfectly well, that is a legitimate thing for this page to have told you.

Where we tutor

The Abu Dhabi communities this page serves

Abu Dhabi's distances are longer than Dubai's and the commutes are less forgiving, which is the main reason the in-home premium behaves differently here. These notes cover what each community does to a weekday session.

Khalifa City and Al Raha

Large villa communities with substantial internal distances, so a travelling tutor spends time inside the community as well as getting to it. The published AED 180-500 in-home band reflects journeys of exactly this shape.

Al Reef and Al Shamkha

Further out along the airport and Shamkha corridors, where a round trip can approach two hours at the wrong time of day. Pupils are home by about half past four, which makes an early online slot both realistic and productive.

Mohammed Bin Zayed City and Shakhbout City

Dense and well populated with school-age children, and generally a tighter education budget than the waterfront districts. This is where the AED 45-150 online band finds most of its market in the emirate.

Al Mushrif and Al Bateen

Established island districts with shorter school runs and a concentration of established schools. The upper bands find their market here, which makes it worth being precise about what the extra money is buying.

Yas Island and Saadiyat Island

Single-access communities where a nominally short journey behaves badly at peak. Families here often want a 4.30pm start, which is the worst possible slot for anyone driving on or off an island.

Al Reem Island and the city centre

Tower living with lift and parking delays that add real time to an in-home visit beyond the drive itself. Sessions after 6pm are routine, and an online tutor fits them without a travel surcharge.

Baniyas and Al Wathba

Long runs to most of the emirate's school clusters, which makes an in-home arrangement poor value whatever the rate. Weekend morning sessions are common here for full timed paper work.

School ecosystem

IB and Cambridge school communities we support in Abu Dhabi

The Khalifa City, Al Raha and Yas corridor

A dense band of British, American and IB curriculum schools serving the newer villa communities. Pupils move between them, which is how a child ends up part-way through one board's specification and entered for another.

  • Amity International School Abu Dhabi
  • Al Yasmina Academy
  • Raha International School
  • GEMS American Academy Abu Dhabi
  • Cranleigh Abu Dhabi
  • Yasmina British Academy

The island districts and city centre

Established schools with mature secondary phases and published sixth-form entry grades. Fee levels vary widely across this cluster, and so therefore do tutoring budgets within the same few kilometres.

  • The British School Al Khubairat
  • Abu Dhabi International School
  • Al Muna Academy
  • American Community School of Abu Dhabi
  • Brighton College Abu Dhabi

Schools are named here as context for the communities this page serves. IB Gram has no affiliation, partnership or endorsement arrangement with any named school or school group.

How matching works

From first enquiry to a tutor who fits

  1. 01

    Name the job before asking the price

    Content coverage, habit installation, script diagnosis, top-end stretch, or a scarce specification. Each has a band attached, and naming the job first prevents both common errors: paying specialist rates for coverage, and buying coverage when diagnosis was what was needed.

  2. 02

    Ask two questions at every band

    Which specification code and tier is my child entered for, and what are the components? And, having read this marked script, how many marks went to method as against content? A tutor who answers both concretely is worth their rate. One who answers in general terms is a floor-level service, whatever they charge.

  3. 03

    Ask to see the MoHRE permit

    It was introduced by Ministerial Resolution No. 710 of 2023, is granted free of charge for two years, and MoHRE's service page lists no fee and a two-working-day completion time. Because it is free, anyone citing licensing costs in their rate has misread their own paperwork. And do not arrange tutoring with your child's own class teacher.

  4. 04

    Consider a hybrid rather than one band

    Group content coverage at around AED 100 to 150 per pupil, plus a small number of one-to-one diagnostic hours at the specialist band at the start and before the series. That buys the thing a group cannot do without paying specialist rates for the thing it can. Nobody packages it this way; assemble it yourself.

  5. 05

    Price the journey separately

    In Abu Dhabi the in-home premium is mostly distance: corridor runs to Al Reef and Al Shamkha, internal distances inside Khalifa City and Al Raha, single access routes on and off the islands. Decide whether an adult in the room is worth that, and remember it also narrows the tutor pool to whoever lives nearby.

Why families choose us

What UAE parents tell us matters most

The market read bottom-up, with sources

Every band is attributed to the provider or survey that published it and presented from the cheapest upwards, so each step has to justify itself. Three of the highest-ranking pages in this market publish no price at all and two quote in US dollars, which is not a currency an Abu Dhabi family transacts in.

The job matched to the band

Content coverage, habit installation, script diagnosis, stretch and scarcity are five different jobs with five different prices. Naming which one you need prevents paying for diagnostic capability nobody will use, and prevents buying coverage when diagnosis was the requirement.

ADEK named and explained

Abu Dhabi's regulator appears on none of the researched competitor pages. Its professional-ethics position on teachers tutoring their own pupils is set out here with the caveat that press reports should be verified against the current policy document, because the practical advice does not depend on the exact wording.

Only verifiable claims made

The MoHRE permit, the specification code, a sixth form's published entry grades and the market bands are all checkable, and the page says where. Satisfaction percentages, star ratings and proportion-reaching-top-grades claims are not checkable in this market and are not made here.

Delivery and coverage stated plainly

Lessons are one-to-one over live video in Gulf Standard Time. IB Gram does not offer home visits in Abu Dhabi; home visits are an India-only service. Where a specialist is working from outside the UAE that is disclosed rather than hidden behind a local-looking number, and the rate does not change.

No regulator or board affiliation

IB Gram holds no ADEK, KHDA, SPEA, MoE, MoHRE, Cambridge, Pearson or IB approval, accreditation, licensing or partnership and claims none. It has no office or centre in Abu Dhabi, and its tutors should never be described as regulator-approved.

Student and parent reviews

What students and parents say about working with IB Gram

Practical feedback on tutor fit, revision structure and communication from IB and IGCSE families we have taught.

“Every session has been a positive learning experience. The students are progressing well, becoming more confident, and showing a genuine interest in learning.”

Priya Vivek

Gurugram

“The students have developed a much better understanding of the concepts through regular practice and guidance. Their confidence and participation have improved noticeably.”

Priya Vivek

Gurugram

“Watching the students progress from one session to the next has been very satisfying. They are learning with confidence and showing genuine interest.”

Priya Vivek

Gurugram

“The sessions provide a good balance of explanation, practice, and feedback. Students are steadily building their skills and confidence.”

Priya Vivek

Gurugram

“The students are showing a positive attitude toward learning and are becoming more independent with each session. The progress has been very encouraging.”

Priya Vivek

Gurugram

“Personalized support and regular practice have helped the students make excellent progress. Their confidence has improved significantly over time.”

Priya Vivek

Gurugram

“The learning process has been smooth and engaging. Students are asking better questions, understanding concepts more clearly, and improving consistently.”

Priya Vivek

Gurugram

“It is rewarding to see students become more confident in their abilities. The sessions are productive, engaging, and focused on meaningful learning”

Priya Vivek

Gurugram

“The students are making steady progress and developing a stronger foundation. Consistent practice and individual attention have helped a lot.”

Priya Vivek

Gurugram

“I have seen noticeable improvement in the students' understanding and participation. Their enthusiasm for learning is truly encouraging.”

Priya Vivek

Gurugram

“A supportive learning environment makes a big difference. The students are responding well to personalized guidance and regular feedback.”

Priya Vivek

Gurugram

“The overall learning journey has been very positive. Students are becoming more confident, curious, and comfortable with new concepts.”

Priya Vivek

Gurugram

“The students have shown great progress with regular practice and guidance. It is wonderful to see their confidence grow with every session.”

Priya Vivek

Gurugram

“It has been a rewarding experience working with the students. Their confidence and understanding have improved significantly through consistent guidance, practice, and personalized attention.”

Priya Vivek

Gurugram

“The learning experience has been wonderful. The students are engaged, confident, and showing consistent improvement. The teaching approach is supportive, clear, and focused on building strong fundamentals.”

Priya Vivek

Gurugram

“We were stuck on Math AA HL paper 3 sample questions. The matched tutor walked through the syllabus depth and IA strategy, and our daughter's confidence shifted in three weeks.”

Priya R.

Gurugram

“Physics HL felt scary before mocks. The tutor mapped my weak topics and gave a realistic command-term plan. Mocks went up by two grade boundaries.”

Aarav K.

DLF Phase 5

“We wanted Economics HL support that matched the actual paper command terms. IB Gram matched us within a day with a specialist who understood our school's IA timeline.”

Sneha M.

Sector 57

“Cambridge IGCSE Chemistry past-paper practice made the difference. The tutor was honest about pace and progress, and the lesson notes were structured.”

Reema S.

Sushant Lok

Questions parents ask

IB and IGCSE tutoring in Abu Dhabi: your questions answered

What is the cheapest realistic rate for an Amity International School Abu Dhabi pupil?+

Around AED 33 to 65 an hour online, which is a real floor rather than a loss-leader: Tutopiya advertises from roughly AED 33 to 52 and EdFlik from AED 45 to 65, both drawing largely on university students and overseas graduates. Those rates are genuinely good value for Key Stage 3 fluency work, for Core-tier content coverage, and for a pupil who needs competent company rather than diagnosis. What they do not reliably deliver is an Extended-tier script marked against a published mark scheme with the lost marks categorised.

What does paying AED 150 instead of AED 50 actually buy?+

Specification knowledge. Unitors publishes IGCSE tuition from AED 150 and the Bestimate survey puts qualified subject tutors at AED 150 to 300. The difference is a trained teacher who has taught the syllabus rather than someone who studied the subject, which shows in knowing what a mark scheme awards and why. For Extended-tier work that is the sensible default. For a Year 8 pupil who needs arithmetic drilled to fluency, it buys capability nobody in the arrangement will use.

When is the AED 200-450 specialist band worth paying?+

In four situations. Extended-tier script diagnosis, where a marked timed paper has to be read and the losses categorised. Top-end stretch, where a pupil at a 7 is chasing the genuinely demanding marks above it. A scarce specification such as Computer Science 0478 with pseudocode conventions or Arabic as a first language, where the rate reflects supply. And a specific Diploma internal assessment brief, where scoring a draft against lettered criteria requires familiarity with them. Outside those four, the mid band is usually sufficient.

What is left to buy above the specialist band, at AED 500 and beyond?+

Scarcity and reputation, which is a legitimate thing to charge for and not the same as evidence of effect. BartyED advertises AED 650 for a named premium tutor. The honest point is that nothing in this market is measured: not one of the researched providers publishes outcome data with a sample size, a date and a stated method, and several carry satisfaction percentages and self-asserted star ratings with nothing checkable behind them. A rate above the specialist band is a claim about positioning, and a family paying it should know that is what it is.

Can a teacher from my child's own Abu Dhabi school tutor them privately?+

It is the one arrangement in this market that is explicitly discouraged, and you should not pursue it. ADEK's professional-ethics rules for private and charter school staff have been reported as prohibiting teachers from providing paid private tutoring to students enrolled at their own school, and teachers tutoring outside school hours must hold the MoHRE private tuition work permit, whose code of conduct is also reported to bar serving students affiliated with their own school. Those reports should be verified against the current ADEK policy document, but the practical advice holds either way.

What is ADEK and why does no other tutoring page mention it?+

The Department of Education and Knowledge supervises the licensing and accreditation of private schools in Abu Dhabi, as the emirate's regulator. It appears on none of the researched competitor pages, which is a striking omission on pages aimed at Abu Dhabi families. For comparison, Dubai's regulator is KHDA, Sharjah's is SPEA, Ras Al Khaimah has a Department of Knowledge, and the Ministry of Education supervises private schools in Ajman, Umm Al Quwain and Fujairah. Naming a regulator is not the same as being approved by one, and no provider should imply otherwise.

Does a tutor in Abu Dhabi need a licence, and does it cost anything?+

A permit, and it costs nothing. The private tuition work permit was introduced by Ministerial Resolution No. 710 of 2023, is issued through MoHRE, and is granted free of charge for two years. MoHRE's service page is titled Issuance of a New Work Permit - Private Tutor Licensing, lists no fees and a two-working-day completion time, and is applied for through the smart app, website or e-services system. Because it is free, a provider citing licensing costs in its rate has misread its own paperwork. Tutoring without a permit attracts fines and penalties under the applicable laws.

Are the fines for unlicensed tutoring really AED 50,000?+

No amount can be verified, so do not act on any figure circulating online. The official position is that individuals offering private tutoring without a permit from MoHRE are subject to fines and penalties outlined in the applicable laws. Press reporting has noted that the ministry did not specify the fine amounts or detail the penalties, so a specific number repeated on tutoring pages is not sourced. The practical point for a parent is simply to ask to see the permit, which is free to hold and quick to obtain.

Is a group class in Abu Dhabi good value?+

For content coverage, yes. Small-group rates in this market run around AED 100 to 150 per pupil against AED 200 to 450 for one-to-one specialist work, and the social element helps some pupils work. What a group cannot do is diagnose, because a session pitched to a group addresses the average gap rather than your child's specific pattern of lost marks. Ask whether individual timed scripts are marked between sessions; often they are not. A hybrid of group coverage plus a few diagnostic hours is usually the best value available.

Why is in-home tutoring more expensive in Abu Dhabi than it looks?+

Distance, in three forms. A corridor run out to Al Reef or Al Shamkha is a substantial round trip. Villa communities like Khalifa City and Al Raha have internal distances that add time after the arrival. And Yas and Saadiyat have single access routes that behave badly at peak. The published AED 180 to 500 in-home band is priced against exactly those journeys. The hidden second cost is selection: an in-home tutor must live nearby, so a family often gets a generalist rather than the right specialist.

How can I tell whether a tutor really knows the specification?+

Two questions, asked at any rate. Which specification code and tier is my child entered for, and what are the components? And, having read this marked script, how many marks went to method as against content? A tutor who answers both concretely has read the syllabus and the script, and is worth whatever they charge. A tutor who answers in general terms about building confidence is providing a floor-level service and should be priced as one, however impressive the profile.

Should we expect VAT on top of the hourly figure we were quoted?+

Ask the provider to state it in writing before the first invoice. This page does not state the UAE VAT treatment of tuition fees, because that would require a Federal Tax Authority citation and the position depends on the provider's own registration and the nature of the service. What a family can reasonably require is a quoted AED figure with a plain statement of whether VAT is included, excluded or not applicable, plus a tax registration number where one is held. A provider who avoids the question in writing has answered a different one.

Do you send tutors to Khalifa City, Al Reef or Yas Island?+

No. IB Gram does not offer home visits anywhere in the UAE; sending a tutor to a family's address is a service offered only in India. Tutoring for Abu Dhabi families is one-to-one over live video, scheduled in Gulf Standard Time. The cost consequence is direct: the travel priced into the published AED 180 to 500 in-home band is not in the figure at all, and the tutor is chosen for the specification and tier rather than for living within a drivable radius of your community.

What if the tutor is not based in the UAE?+

Then that is disclosed, and the rate does not change. The published band for the subject and tier is what applies whether a specialist is working from inside the UAE or into Gulf Standard Time from outside it. Disclosure matters here because two ranking competitors route UAE parents to telephone numbers outside the country without saying so, and one shows a Dubai footer address on an Abu Dhabi page. A family is entitled to know where the person teaching their child actually is before the first session.

Reading

Guides for Abu Dhabi families

Longer reads on fees, exam calendars, school choice and the rules that apply in Abu Dhabi.

University admission with an IB Diploma: the subject choices that decide your options
40 min readNov 6, 2026

University admission with an IB Diploma: the subject choices that decide your options

A points total rarely blocks an application. A missing Higher Level or the wrong Mathematics route does. How to read a real entry requirement, and when each choice stops being reversible.

Read Article
Switching From CBSE to IB in Dubai: What Actually Changes, Subject by Subject
39 min readNov 6, 2026

Switching From CBSE to IB in Dubai: What Actually Changes, Subject by Subject

The CBSE-to-IB gap is not difficulty, it is task type. Entry points ranked by risk, the maths placement that constrains the Diploma, and why the first Internal Assessment decides the year.

Read Article
A Ramadan Study Schedule for IB Students in the UAE That Actually Works
37 min readNov 6, 2026

A Ramadan Study Schedule for IB Students in the UAE That Actually Works

Standard revision timetables assume a student who eats lunch. Here is how to rebuild the IB or IGCSE week around the three study windows a fasting student in the UAE actually has.

Read Article
The UAE Private Tutor Work Permit, Explained for Parents and Tutors
38 min readNov 6, 2026

The UAE Private Tutor Work Permit, Explained for Parents and Tutors

Private tutoring in the UAE needs a MoHRE work permit — free, two years, created by Ministerial Resolution 710 of 2023. What it covers, who qualifies, and how a parent verifies it.

Read Article
Moving to Dubai With IB Children: The Sequence That Keeps the Diploma Intact
37 min readNov 6, 2026

Moving to Dubai With IB Children: The Sequence That Keeps the Diploma Intact

The IB programme travels with you; the regulator, the compulsory subjects and the school run do not. A relocation sequence for PYP, MYP and DP families, in the order decisions must be taken.

Read Article
MoE Equivalency for IGCSE Students: How to Count Your Five Subjects Properly
36 min readNov 6, 2026

MoE Equivalency for IGCSE Students: How to Count Your Five Subjects Properly

The UAE five-subject equivalency rule, counted slowly with worked student ledgers: which subjects are excluded, what the grade floor means, and the last moment to fix a shortfall.

Read Article
Flag of Abu Dhabi

Name the job, then read the bands upwards

Decide first which job you are buying: content coverage, habit installation, script diagnosis, top-end stretch, or a scarce specification. Then read the published bands on this page from AED 45 upwards and stop at the first one that can do that job. Ask every candidate which specification code and tier your child is entered for, and what a marked script says about method against content. Ask to see the MoHRE permit, which is free to hold. A free trial lesson is one session with no card details required. Lessons are one-to-one over live video in Gulf Standard Time.